St. Louis River Alliance

Environmental Stewardship Awards

Each year, the St. Louis River Alliance (SLRA) and its Environmental Stewardship Workgroup recognize outstanding environmental stewardship efforts in the lower St. Louis River Watershed. Nominations are solicited in the fall, and awards are presented at the annual meeting in January.

Nominations can be made by downloading a nomination form and mail to St. Louis River Alliance, 394 S. Lake Ave. Suite 321, Duluth, MN 55802 or email to or fax to 218-723-4794.

Projects must take place within the last few years in the lower St. Louis River or Nemadji River Watersheds. This includes Duluth, Superior and Cloquet areas. Individuals, organizations, businesses, schools, media, municipalities and government agencies may apply or be nominated.

Six Categories

The five “named” awards honor the memory of SLRCAC members who made outstanding contributions toward improving the St. Louis River Watersehd.

The categories are:

Sally Gibson Individual Award: Sally Gibson represented the League of Women Voters of Duluth on the SLRCAC. She kept a close eye on our bylaws and thereby kepy us “honest”. She was also a “mother” to us. She was, more than once, heard to say about the Stewardship Workgroup: “We have fun!”

Milton E. Pelletier Organization/Club Award (civic, recreational, environmental and youth groups): Milt Pelletier reoresented the United Northern Sportsmen on the SLRCAC. Milt was a “common guy”, a school bus driver who had a lifelong interest and involvement in protecting the environment. He was a long time active member and leader in the United Northern Sportsmen organization, and in the former St. Louis River Recreation Association. As the river got cleaned up, he promoted fish stocking and improved access, sponsored Kids Fishing days in the spring and participated faithfully in the Remedial Action Plan (RAP) process. HIs wife Harriet often accompanied him to meetings, and knew as much as he did about the issues being considered.

Randy Marshall Business/Industry Award: Randy Marshal represented North Star Steel on the SLRCAC. He was one of the representatives of the business community who was really involved, and became a fast partner, in the RAP process. His leadership helped ensure balance in the procecss.

Willard Munger, Sr. Government/Agency Award (including municipalities): Willard Munger, Sr. worked in the Minnesota House of Representatives for more than 20 years. Officials and lawmakers came to like and respect Willard because of his tenacious spirit and his bulldog attitude toward making laws that protected the environment.

Len Anderson School/Institution Award (schools and/or teachers at any level): In 2009, this award was named for Len Anderson, a retired educator and active advocator for the St. Louis River as well as being active with environmetnal issues.

Media (individuals or entities)


Annual Award Recipients